You Have How Many?

I never thought that having a family with 3 children or 4 children was really considered a large family, well apparently I’m the minority in that, because even before with our 3 children and especially now that we are expecting number 4 we get the question of “how many children do you have?” or the “are they all yours?” Then, more often than not when we answer the response is “oooohhhhh, ok” with the look, and if you have this many children I’m sure by now you know what the look is the oh my goodness these people are crazy look, and our age doesn’t do us any justice either thankfully most people don’t ask us our age but when they do and we tell them we’re 23 and 24 it’s usually just silence with a smile.  I don’t mind though, I really don’t not only because I’m used to it by now but also because I really just don’t care, God has given us these precious babies to take care of and I love every second of it.  Even the crazy oh my goodness I’m going to scream (along with the kids), did a toy store just explode in the living room right after I cleaned, or the if I have to vacuum one more time I’m going to go insane moments.  I love them all and wouldn’t trade them for the world.

I’m sure if you asked each one of the kids although the only response you’re going to get from Isabelle would be a little babbling and maybe a “hey” or “dada” but I can guarantee you if they had the choice to be an only child or have each other they would leave it exactly as it is to them the more the merrier.  In fact if Jeremiah or Caidence have a sleepover with someone the one left at home just doesn’t know what to do with themselves, it’s a little easier now that Isabelle is here too, but they get really lonely and start to miss one another very, very quickly.  But, Jeremiah recently spent the night with his nina (my mom) and for the first time ever the girls finally had a very long time of bonding and playing with one another without me there, usually Isabelle may sit and watch Caidence for a minute or two and then go off and do her own thing but that Saturday morning they were playing babies together.  They had the little carriers with blankets and each one had a baby they were sitting together giggling and just having fun together and I thought if we would have stuck with the world’s standards of what is “enough” children my daughter would have never been able to have this wonderful bonding moment with her sister, and Jeremiah wouldn’t be able to experience those bonding moments with his brother once he gets here.  If your choice is to stick with one or two or even no children that’s your choice, maybe God has something different in life for you or whatever the case may be I’m not trying to make anyone feel bad for their choices, this is just what’s right for us God chose us to have all of these blessings all 4 of them and I’m very glad He did.

4 thoughts on “You Have How Many?

  1. Latrecia says:

    I don’t know how I missed this post!!! Yes I completely agree with you! We have 3 children also and people always say “Wow, you really have your hands full.” My response is usually expressing our interest to have more children and then I mention that children are a blessing from the Lord and he won’t put anything on us that we can’t handle.

  2. Earringmaker says:

    I don’t know how I missed this post!!! Yes I completely agree with you! We have 3 children also and people always say “Wow, you really have your hands full.” My response is usually expressing our interest to have more children and then I mention that children are a blessing from the Lord and he won’t put anything on us that we can’t handle.

    • Absolutely children are truly a blessing! I heard one parent before that had many kids every time someone mentioned how she had her hands full she would reply “they sure are they are full of blessings” and it is very true He won’t put too much on us, when my husband and I got together we always said we would have no more than 2 children, and then the Lord changed our hearts and I’m so glad He did!

  3. pbofushere9 says:

    You are a wonderful mama, and a wonderful daughter. I should know, I’m the (now famous) Nina mentioned above! Love you all!

Leave a Reply

