Can You Stay Home?

Are there any of you out there who wish you could stay home with your children but you just don’t see any way?  Well, I’m going to tell you how it is possible for us, and how it can be possible for you.

I used to work a full time job, I hated it, I really did, I wanted so badly to be home with my babies, at the time it was just Jeremiah and Caidence.  They would beg me to stay home with them, they would cry every single time I left while begging me to stay and then I would drive on my way to work crying praying that I could just leave that job and stay with them.  But, we didn’t think we could we didn’t think that my husbands income alone could support our family.  I especially wanted to stay home even more as it came time that Jeremiah would be entering school, I didn’t want this world to teach my child and at the time homeschooling wasn’t even in my mind, I just knew I didn’t want that and that it wasn’t what God had planned for our family.

Then, God made a way and I had to quit my job, I was pregnant with Isabelle at the time and I was so happy the day I quit.  But, then came time to figure out how in the world we could afford to actually make it.  Well, first thing we realized we had to do was to sell my husband’s truck we had just bought and still had to pay on every month.  We already had another vehicle that was paid for and we were still paying on my van as well.  Thankfully God sent us someone who bought the truck for what was owed on it in a couple of months, and I’m not going to lie, the first few months weren’t the easiest but we did sell it and that gave us a bit more income.

There are also small things that you don’t think about but when you are working they add up but you don’t have these expenses when you stay home.  I would spend at least $6 a day on food and that’s a minimum now that I was staying at home I either cooked what we had at home or it was planned into the food budget which saved a ton so that $6 for every day that I worked (5 days a week) equals to approximately $2,160 per year.  Also, extra gas from me driving to and from work and to and from taking the kids where they would be staying while I was working where as with staying at home, I don’t leave the house very often, we go on field trips, and we have co-op for homeschool, and I go out to the bank once a week, but we save so much money from that. If you are an avid coffee drinker then you know how much stopping by a coffee shop can cost every morning, that alone can equal up to the $6 a day as well.  Another big expense is daycare, if you are paying for daycare that really adds up, at the time when we only had Jeremiah and Caidence if we would have been paying for child care, we would have had to pay out more than what I was making for a decent place.

If you really feel like God is calling you to stay at home with your children just know that He will not ask you to do something that you can’t do.  He will make a way for you.  Will you get to go shopping and get whatever you want? No.  Will you have to start using a strict budget to make it work? Yes. Is it hard sometimes and you would really like to have more money in the bank than you do? Absolutely.  But, I promise if this is something that God has for you to do then He will make a way.  We are now at the point where we do have enough to have everything that we NEED, plenty of things that we want (we just shop around for the best deal), and we have money in the bank  but did it take a while? Yes it did.  Did it take hard work to come up with a budget and doing things to make sure we were frugal and not spending too much money?  Of course!  But, it is possible and you can do it too.

One of the first steps I think would be great for those of you to do is first just live off of one income, take the second income and put it into the bank and pretend it isn’t there.  Not only will this show you how to live this way and make you have to try and make it work but it will also give you a cushion of money in the bank for when you do decide to go ahead and quit working to stay home and you will be a lot more comfortable with it in there for you in case you need it.

Are you wanting to stay at home?  Let me know how this works out for you.

2 thoughts on “Can You Stay Home?

  1. Patty says:

    Another expense you face when working is clothing and business attire. At home you can wear sweats – and be comfortable playing in the floor with your kiddos. Dress slacks and blouses – or even jeans are so much more expensive. You also have no dry cleaning bill when you wear comfortable sweat pants and t-shirts.
    And children really do so much better when they are home with a loving Mom who wants to spend her day with them. Even the best preschool cannot compare. Thank you for encouraging Moms to stay home with their babies.

    • So very true, Patty, one other thing that I think is wonderful is that when you do stay home you often try to think of multiple ways of being resourceful and it actually turns out being way better than you could have imagined just because you didn’t realize how much unnecessary spending you did before. Thank you for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

