Ants and Diligence

Our newest homeschool adventure has been us learning about ants, you know those things you can’t stand being all through your yard that attack anything that comes near their home causing pain making you wish they never existed, yeah, those.  Well, I have a new perspective on these neat little creatures.

Watching them has made me absolutely amazed at what they do and how they work I knew that ants were hard workers but my goodness they seem to never sleep always preparing their home or gathering their food.  Always moving doing something and making these amazing little intricate tunnels that somehow hold up under pressure of all the other sand in the enclosure.

Image

 

Isn’t that just amazing!  I wish you could see more detail in this picture but it’s awesome.  Even the bible speaks of the hard work of the ant: “Take a lesson from the ants you lazybones.  Learn from their ways and become wise!  Though they have no prince or governor or ruler to make them work, they labor hard all summer, gathering food for the winter.  But you, lazybones, how long will you sleep?  When will you wake up?  A little extra sleep, a little more slumber a little folding of the hands to rest- then poverty will pounce on you like a bandit; scarcity will attack you like an armed robber.” Proverbs 6:6-11.

So, as well as learning of the ants we have been learning about diligence and working for the Lord, a lot of times even myself I don’t work as if I’m working for the Lord and when I intentionally make sure that I am doing my work whether it be raising the children, doing things for my husband, or taking care of the house not only does it make me realize that I am truly working for the Lord and that He gives me all of these things that I care for but it gives me so much joy to do them and makes my day so much better.

Something we are going to be doing this week along with this and will continue is to not only make sure we are working for the Lord but also the bible tells us that when we work for the Lord we will receive a reward and no, that doesn’t necessarily mean here on this earth it may be a reward in heaven, but to teach this verse and instill in our children that working for the Lord is what we need to do we will have times where we give the children certain things to do all week and then at the end if they have worked joyfully for the Lord they will receive a reward.  Nothing big, but getting to pick a small prize at the store, a nice stop for ice cream or something simple like that, maybe you’ll want to try it too, I’m looking forward to it.

Hope you enjoyed this post, what are you studying in your homeschool this week?  We would love to hear all about it, and just to share here’s another picture of our anthill we have:

Image

  The ants look really tiny here, but in comparison to the one’s we have around here they are absolutely huge!

Leave a Reply

