Our Thankful Turkeys

  We’re getting to a very late start in our Thankfulness for Thanksgiving, we do of course try to think of things we’re thankful for all year round, but I do think it is good to take extra special time during this time of the year and really emphasize on being thankful and I promise, if you ask your children what they are thankful for they will come up with tons of things.

  Of course other fun things about Thanksgiving and Christmas time are arts and crafts and cooking together!!!  Two things that are beginning to be my favorite things ever to do with the kids which is awesome, because, before it felt like such a chore but when I changed my perspective, prayed about it and God showed me it’s all about them and not me I have really, really begun to enjoy it thoroughly. So, we made Thankful Turkeys!!  It was so much fun, they got to pick out the colors they wanted then got to color their turkeys and glue them together and I wrote on them what the kids told me they were thankful for.

  Caidence told me that she was thankful for:  God, trees, rain, rope, lessons, and Jesus.

Image

  Jeremiah told me that he was thankful for: clothes, his toys, the trees, the grass, the leaf piles, and the rain.

Image

  Although I didn’t make a thankful turkey, I will say what I’m thankful for, I’m thankful to have an awesome God, I am thankful that I have an amazing husband who works so hard for our family and loves his children so much, I am thankful that we have a roof over our head and everything that we need, I am thankful that God showed us a way for me to be able to stay home with our children, I am thankful that we are able to homeschool our children, I am thankful that we live in a country where I can openly worship the Lord and teach my children all about Him without having to worry about getting put in jail or even killed for it.

  And yes, that is our completely decorated Christmas tree in the background this early in November, we wanted to be prepared and have the house decorated before the baby was born so that we wouldn’t have to after he gets here.

  Tell me, what are you thankful for?  Have you made thankful turkeys or some other arts and craft with your child to show your thankfulness?  I would love to hear from you, comment below!

3 thoughts on “Our Thankful Turkeys

  1. Rope!?! Leaf piles!?! We can learn from them. Not just to be thankful for the “biggies” like family, etc. but also every little thing. We’d all be happy if we thought to thank the Lord for, say, nice warm socks on our feet.

  2. My sweet turkey Grandbabies! What was Isabelle thankful for?

Leave a Reply

