Don’t have idle hands

I love this verse and I also want to make sure that I follow this in my life starting this new year, I often find myself with idle hands and having times of laziness and I really get upset with myself when I do that not saying that we don’t all need a time to rest and relax because of course we do, but there’s a difference in taking time for ourselves to relax and being lazy. I wanted to post these two different ways because I think that sometimes when we do see the different ways language is used it can even further help us to understand the verses we are reading and I wanted you to get that as well.

New International Version
“She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 31:27

New Living Translation
“She carefully watches everything in her household and suffers nothing from laziness.” Proverbs 31:27

Now, don’t take this as saying we are going to do this all the time, because we aren’t and that’s because we aren’t perfect, we can’t be perfect, we aren’t God, but we need to strive to be just like Him but if you do have a day or even a week of just being lazy don’t beat up on yourself, just know that because of God’s grace we don’t have to be perfect and He loves us even when we aren’t anything close to it, I just want to encourage you to strive to be more like Him and to make sure not to have idle hands, work hard for the Lord!

 

Leave a Reply

