Food Tip!

I just wanted to share a nice little tip with you that I’ve just started to do to make our meat go a little farther because with a family of our size and a low food budget, anything to help out is great.

I knew that you could make black bean burgers but I had never tried them, but I thought that if you can make black bean burgers and they taste pretty much like the meat does then why not just add it to meat to make it last longer.

So, I soaked, cooked, and then pureed the beans and added the beans in with my meat before I browned it so far I’ve only used it with deer but I’m excited to see how it tastes with ground turkey as well but I make hash brown casserole, and you could taste the beans a little but it added a nice flavor to the meal and then I did this with enchilada casserole too and it was really, really good.

I love the fact that you can use half the meat you would usually use and get more than double out of it, all while having it taste great and it’s also very healthy.

To do this, I just used half a pound of the meat of your choice and two cups of black bean puree, add the beans before you brown the meat and mix it all together as the meat is being browned and use it just as you would the meat.

Let me know if you try this and how you like it, just comment below!

Leave a Reply

