Special Dinners!

Do you guys have special family nights?  Nights where you do something special together as a family?  We have never set out any “special” nights for doing certain things, we just play together as a family whenever, but we had never really done any extra special out of the ordinary things as a family on any certain night but Jeremiah actually got me thinking.

The other night he came out to the living room some play time with his sisters carrying a huge blanket draped over his shoulder when I called them for dinner.  I was wondering what in the world was on his mind and why he was carrying the blanket in, and he said “we’re all going to sit and have a picnic dinner!”  I absolutely loved this idea of his, we had done a picnic outside several times during the summer but we had never had a picnic in the house and never at dinner time, dinner time is eaten at the table almost all of the time never as a picnic in the floor.  I am so thankful Jeremiah had this wonderful idea it was so much fun to be able to all sit close together and just have fun something about being on the blanket in the floor just made it different than sitting together at the table.  While we ate Justin read the kids a few bible stories and we all talked about what the story said and enjoyed listening to the kids it was an out of the ordinary thing to do for us, but it was great!

I know it may not seem like a big deal or it may not seem like it would be much fun but it really was and now I think that we’ll try to do this one night a week maybe we’ll play some fun games after we eat as well other than our normal playtime.  Maybe you guys would like to give this a shot or something else that’s really fun but not normal for your family.  I can’t wait to see the smile on the kids faces when me and Justin are the one’s to pull out the big blanket to have a picnic dinner together again, I just know they’re going to be so excited.

What are some fun family night things you do with your kids?  Any ideas to share I would love to hear them, just comment below and let me know!

2 thoughts on “Special Dinners!

  1. Latrecia says:

    Since we don’t have a TV we have many family nights. Most nights are dedicated to reading to each other. My husband and I will generally start of reading and then pass the book around so everyone has a chance to read. I’ve noticed a much stronger bond since we got rid of the TV a little over a year ago.

    • That sounds like tons of fun, we love to read around here too, we do have a tv but, we don’t have cable and I can tell a difference in not having cable as well, it’s crazy how much time the tv can consume if we aren’t careful.

Leave a Reply

