Handy Tip For You!

Well, just the other day we had our first experience with gum getting stuck into a child’s hair.  Our sweet Caidence apparently got gum in her hair and didn’t say anything to us, so as I’m getting ready for bath time that morning I notice a big glob of gum not only stuck, but embedded into her hair.  I didn’t know what to do, I had no clue of how to get it out and I certainly didn’t want to cut it out.  Caidence hasn’t had a haircut yet and I really don’t want to cut it yet and I really, really didn’t want to ever cut it as short as it would have to be to get that gum out.

Here it is, and yes, that is a nice huge glob of gum!

gum in caidences hair  So, what could I do?  Well, I had heard before that you could try to use oil to try and get gum out but I really didn’t think it would work, I didn’t see how.  Maybe if it was just barely stuck, but not with hers where the hair somehow got wrapped all around this gum.  But, hey it was certainly worth a shot and I was going to try everything before I would even think of cutting her hair.  So, I got some extra virgin olive oil poured it into a container:

 

olive oil for caidence  Then, I took the gum and attached hair and just let it soak for a bit in the container.  After that it took a little bit of time just working the oil around the gum to try and free it from the hair.  Slowly but surely I discovered we were actually making progress.  This whole process took several minutes and it didn’t come out in one large piece but it did eventually come all the way out.

caidence when soaking hair  After adding the oil and getting the gum out and a nice washing of the hair here it is, no gum!!  You will need to wash the hair a couple of times to get rid of all the oil but it was totally worth the time it took to get it out, and, to my surprise my sweet girl who usually is very tender headed didn’t even mind me having to do all this for the most part.

 

caidence after gum

 

Leave a Reply

