Homemade Laundry Soap!

I have thought about making this laundry soap ( you can find the original recipe here ) for such a long time now and just hadn’t made any……. until now!  Today I drug out my big stock pot (yes you will want to bring that one out the soap foams…… a lot) and got the simple 3 ingredients out (well, 4 if you include the water).

First, get your ingredients together:

  • 1/4 cup Borax
  • 1/2 cup Super Washing Soda
  • 1/2 a bar Fels Naptha Soap (this stuff is incredible)

IMG_20150615_192230

First off, let me start by saying that once you start making this your sense of smell will thank you! It smells incredible, your whole house will start to smell so good!!

I always buy a few bars at a time since they are so inexpensive but, I keep them in a cute little jar at the back of my sink and every time I walk by my sink I get to smell that great scent!

I always buy a few bars at a time since they are so inexpensive but, I keep them in a cute little jar at the back of my sink and every time I walk by my sink I get to smell that great scent!

Now, if the ingredients weren’t simple enough the steps to make this are so super easy which is really great for a busy mom like me!

The recipe I use is only half of the original recipe, I make 5 gallons at a time (yes, that little amount makes 5 gallons, crazy right!)

Just grate the 1/2 a bar of Fels Naptha soap (it looks like grated cheese hehe that would be a mean trick to play on someone), add it in a stock pot with 2 cups of HOT water. Heat it over medium low to medium until the soap is completely melted….. this was honestly the hardest part of it all only because it took a little bit of time (about 7 minutes or so) make sure you stir it continuously this is an important step!! This will be the time you either realized you should have used a bigger pot or you’re really glad you pulled out that giant stock pot because this stuff does foam up……….. A LOT!

Now, add HOT water to the 5 gallon bucket, fill it half full and then add in the foamy soap mixture and mix a bit. Then, just add in your borax and washing soda. You do need to mix it thoroughly although to be honest it’s really hard to see anything past the foam so just stir it a bit until you’re pretty sure it’s all mixed in and you’ll be fine.

The last step for today is to just top it off with some more HOT water. I topped mine off and then waited about an hour and added some more once the foam went down a bit to be sure I was getting my full 5 gallons.

I told you it was VERY foamy!!

I told you it was VERY foamy!!

Let this mixture sit all night and it will gel up, now you’re ready to use it just be sure to give it a nice stir before you use it each time!

I love that I finally tried making this it was really simple and now I can save so much money on laundry soap since we go through soooo much in our family and I can choose how I want it to smell, because once this recipe has cooled you can add in your own essential oils. Right now I only have peppermint and eucalyptus on hand so I’ll be adding one of those two to mine but I think that especially during the winter peppermint would be fabulous!!

Have you made this before? How do you like it? Let me know if you try it out now!!

**Disclaimer: I don’t own this recipe! Also, Please make sure to add a tight sealing lid to your 5-gallon bucket we don’t want our little one’s to get into this and get sick or hurt!!!!

Leave a Reply

