Love and Marriage

Today I’m going to be talking a bit about marriage. Have you heard about the book the Love Dare? It comes from the movie Fireproof, and if you haven’t seen that one, you should really check it out it’s a wonderful movie! Anyway, back to the book. This book is written by the Kendrick Brothers and it gives you something to do each and every day to strengthen your marriage. My husband and I started the love dare together back in 2011 and we ended up not even getting to finish it but, just the other day I decided that I was going to pull the book back out and do this with him again only this time I’m just doing it myself for him without him knowing just to show him my love.  540_293_resize_20130901_c3baeb9f1aba9bc2d516f1a378a0005f_jpg

You see, my husband and I really do have a great marriage, I have been truly blessed with an incredible wonderful man whom I love with all my heart and we haven’t really ever had any marriage issues (I’m not saying we never get in an argument or don’t annoy each other, that’s just crazy everyone does that) but, we just work right through it and don’t hold onto those things. So, I hadn’t pulled out the love dare book in quite a while because it was almost as if I thought I didn’t need it to improve our marriage. Now, as I said before I decided to get the book out and my thoughts behind that were that it doesn’t matter that we don’t need any extra “help” to make our marriage work, why wouldn’t I want to always be working on making our marriage even better, so that’s what I’m going to do.

Today for me was day 3 of the book and it said to buy something special for your spouse but, today instead of buying something I surprised him and took him out for some frozen yogurt and we had a great time, it really can be something that simple. The first two days were about being kind and being patient with your spouse, sometimes that’s really, really hard but I have been putting my focus on doing these things and it has been so nice and I have really enjoyed showing love to my husband in those ways.

That was some yummy Froyo

That was some yummy Froyo

What are some ways you go out of your way to show love to your spouse?

Leave a Reply

