Simple Scrumptious Soup!

Ahh, soup! Nothing better and more delicious during all this cold weather!
I realized it’s been awhile since I’ve shared my potato soup recipe but I wanted to bring back and oldie but a goodie with a little bit of a twist.

So, last time I shared my recipe it was my version of a crock-pot potato soup but this time I’m just going for the yummy one pot potato soup that’s really just as simple as my crock-pot version but I believe this one offers up it’s own yummy flavors!

Now, I know I like to share step by step recipes but when I cook at home more times than not a recipe is either not used at all, or I just go by texture, look, and taste instead of measuring out exact amounts but, for the sake of this post I’ll try to give the exact amounts……. or at least really, really close!

Make sure you peel and chop your potatoes before beginning to make the soup or have someone helping you to do this while you get started. Jeremiah is my potato peeler and chopper, he loves to do this job so anytime we have potato soup he knows what his job is!

For starters all you’re going to do is melt some butter I prefer real butter but if all you have is margarine on hand then that’s okay it just has a little bit of difference in flavor. Just add in about 1/4 C. While your butter’s melting go ahead and start cooking your bacon I know I said one-pot meal but on this night I didn’t cook the bacon in the pot but if you do you can certainly use the drippings from the bacon in place of the butter…. YUM!

Once your butter is melted grate in some yummy garlic, and with garlic at least in this house, the more the better!

20151129_191634-1

Let me also suggest that if you don’t already have a really good quality zester/grater, get one now! It saves so much time and gives you perfectly grated garlic! Also, even though you do have to hold the garlic to grate it, that garlic smell doesn’t stay on your hands like it does when you have to hold it while you’re cutting it and it’s so much easier. I suggest checking out this Best Premium Zester Grater from Smarty Pants Supplies (Isn’t that the cutest name ever!)

Once you get your desired amount of garlic you can also add in 1/2 white onion. I usually don’t add onion because my wonderful hubby doesn’t like the texture of onions but I do absolutely love the flavor and texture they add so I do occasionally have this soup for lunch when it’s just me and the kids.

Your next step is to add flour, now I’m going to be totally honest here I really don’t know any exact measurements on the flour that I really just do go by texture on this one but the basic amount you want to start with is equal to your butter so if you add in 1/4 C. butter add in 1/4 C. flour but the more you make this recipe the more you will learn. You’re just making a roux it gives your soup a great flavor and it also helps to thicken it a bit. I let my roux with the garlic simmer on low/medium for about 2-3 minutes or until the roux starts to turn a light golden brown.

Now, the super easy part, just add in your desired amount of water, I usually add in about 6 cups of water and add in the correct amount of chicken base or you can also use half chicken broth and half water. Then add in your potatoes and bring it to a boil!

20151129_195207-1

 

At this point all you’re going to do is let your soup boil for about 2 minutes then simmer for 15 or until your potatoes are soft. Just stir occasionally and at the very end you’re going to add in just a bit of milk or heavy cream depending on the thickness you’re wanting. I usually add in about 1 C. Then, serve the soup and top with bacon and yummy cheese and to complete the meal serve with some delicious dinner rolls! Enjoy!

*I received the grater/zester for free in return for my honest, unbiased review!

 

Leave a Reply

